The Row, Billy Reid earn top honors at 2012 CFDA Awards
Posted by on June 4, 2012 | 9:02 pm EST

Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen of The Row

From the industry’s most talented designers to Hollywood’s most stylish personalities, New York’s Lincoln Center was set ablaze as attendees put their best fashion foot forward to fete the 2012 CFDA Awards. Although it was the night many designers have been eagerly anticipating for, only a select few went home with the prized trophy.

Cementing their status as legitimate fashion designers were Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen who bagged the Womenswear Designer of the Year awards for their luxury label The Row. In the menswear category, it was Billy Reid who took the top honor. Reed Krakoff, on the other hand, nabbed the prestigious Accessories Designer of the Year, besting Alexander Wang and Proenza Schouler. Joseph Altuzarra, Phillip Lim and Tabitha Simmons grabbed the Swarovski Awards for Emerging Talent in Womenswear, Menswear and Accessory Design, respectively.

Tommy Hilfiger accepted the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. The Founders Awards in honor of Eleanor Lambert was given to Andrew Rosen, while the Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard was handed to Scott Schuman and Garance Doré.

True to previous reports, International Award recipient Rei Kawakubo did not attend the ceremony. Johnny Depp, who was supposed to be lauded for his personal style with the Fashion Icon Award was absent from the ceremony.

Here is the full list of winners:

Womenswear Designer of the Year
The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year
Billy Reid

Accessories Designer of the Year
Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award For Emerging Talent in Womenswear Design
Joseph Altuzarra

Swarovski Award For Emerging Talent in Menswear Design
Phillip Lim

Swarovski Award For Emerging Talent in Accessory Design
Tabitha Simmons

Photo from PR Photos

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Google Plus

Related Posts